Re: scam photo agencies
Posted by:
Jim Williams (IP Logged)
Date: March 8, 2002 08:13AM
In Reply to: Re: scam photo agencies posted by Mikael Karlsson on March 06, 20102 at 08:11:39:
: : I am curious if other photographers have been sent advertisements by stock agencies looking for images to market saying you will make money rapidly. I have had images with FotoBank, Axxiom International in LA, and now PictureStock.com in Toronto but there have never been any royality payments. PictureStock has over 700 of my images and 15 images are on their web site but I still have not received any money after 2 years with them. Have any of you reading this message had dealings with any of these agencies?: ********
: Harry,
: If you search the Archives here you'll find a lot of information about PictureStock aka PictureStock International.
: Signing up with an agency is a business arrangement. If you were to hire a contractor to put a new roof on your home, chances are you'd ask for references and you'd check those references out. Well, you should do the same thing in business arrangements. Before signing up with any agency, check them out as much as you can. Search the Kracker Barrel Archives, ask people here about the agency in question, ask the agency for references - i.e. other photographers - and check those out. I'm sorry if this sounds harsh but going into a business agreement with an agency without checking them out first is not a very good thing.
: MikaelWhen you ask Picture Stock for references they will send you to comments from people whose first names and cities only are listed. They say this is to protect the people. They have 50 pictures of mine and I write them off as a waste of time. Another name I have known them by is Picture Stock Worldwide. If anybody is interested in class action legal action against them, (they have a US address) I would be delighted to jump in on it. Not only does their advertising mention selling the use, they also advertise sending the pics out to contests.